DePaul University College of Business > About > Centers & Institutes > Center for Innovation > Awards & Recognition

Awards & Recognition

student presenting
winners laughing together
students talking
Savoy Speaking
Lisa and Jake
Katlin Smith of Simple Mills
simple mills
John Winzeler
Alyssa Nagy

Student Innovation Awards

The Student Innovation Awards is a competition sponsored by Driehaus' Center for Innovation and recognizes students' creativity, originality and the ability to solve problems and discover new opportunities. The competition is held annually and brings out the finest innovative ideas from students all around the university.

The 7th Annual Student Innovation Awards event was held on February 23rd at the DePaul Loop Campus. This year's theme was Product and Service Innovation and over 125 students submitted nominations. The winners were selected by a group of Chicago business community members that served as judges for the competition. This year's winners included Savoy Corona, Jake Gice, Oleh Mykolyshyn, Alyssa Nagy, Ayet Ujwok and Patrick Zieba. At the Awards Ceremony audience members heard the winners pitch their new product or service ideas as well as hear from a panel of industry experts including, Bhusha Mehta, Program Executive at, Katlin Smith, Founder & CEO of Simple Mills, Owner of Dishique, Megan Steffen and President of Winzeler Gears, John Winzeler.

Past Student Innovation Award Winners

2016 Winners

Nervana, Growth for Good
Winner: Evan Bennett

SAP, Idea Dissemination
Winner: Gerardo Garza, Jr.

UI Labs, Reduce Energy Consumption
Winner: Justin Gaczorek

UI Labs, Create a Transportation Demand Management Platform
Winner: Morgan Schulof ​

2015 Winners


Gold: Safe Crosser, Monica Grygorowicz, Driehaus College of Business
Silver: HealthPrentice, Khoa Nguyen, Driehaus College of Business
Bronze: Pulp Paper, Elaine Ackerman, Driehaus College of Business
Bronze: KidsBand + App, Jenny Fuerte, College of Computing and Digital Media


Gold: WeatherBox, Casandra Bungert, Kellstadt Graduate School of Business
Silver: Horse Pilates, Sue Nicole Susenburger, College of Communication
Bronze: Knight Out Collection, Adam H. Grossman, Kellstadt Graduate School of Business

Honorable Mention

3D Recycling Printer (3DRP), Mariana Gutierrez, Driehaus College of Business
IPSER, Morgan Schulhof, Driehaus College of Business
Phonella, David Allen, Driehaus College of Business ​

2015 Student Innovation Awards

Innovation Ambassadors Award

The Innovation Ambassadors Award was created to recognize students for committing their time and effort in service to the center on initiatives and activities that support innovation in the university and business communities. 

Innovation Advocacy Award

The Innovation Advocacy Award was created to recognize extraordinary service to the field to promote greater understanding and growth, and to celebrate people who contribute significant efforts to educating future innovators and supporting innovation in the business community.

The Center for Innovation was pleased to present the inaugural Innovation Advocacy Award to Carol Oman, of Consumer Innovation at Kraft Foods R&D. Carol deserves special recognition for her commitment to and passionate interest in the fields of creativity and innovation management. Over the years, Carol has fostered the education of students in innovation at DePaul university, as well as participated in many outreach efforts in the business community that bring people together for professional development and growth. ​