College of Business > About > Centers & Institutes > Coleman Entrepreneurship Center > Competitions and Awards

Competitions and Awards

The Coleman Center hosts two main pitch competitions — the Purpose Pitch Competition and the Student Innovation Expo — that challenge students and alumni to develop sustainable business plans within the Chicago ecosystem and beyond.

Final Four Business Pitch

DePaul University’s Coleman Entrepreneurship Center, along with Michigan State University, Purdue University and University of Illinois System's Discovery Partners Institute, are hosting the Final Four Business Pitch at 1871 to explore the best university startups in Chicago.

When: 5:30-8:30 p.m., Tuesday, July 31, 2018


Purpose Pitch Competition

Purpose Pitch Competition

The annual Purpose Pitch Competition challenges student and alumni entrepreneurs to pitch their greater purpose and how they plan to fulfill that purpose through their business objective, instead of pitching investors on the business itself.

Read about the 2018 competition

Student Innovation Expo

The Student Innovation Expo recognizes students' creativity, originality and the ability to solve problems and discover new opportunities. The competition is held annually and brings out the finest innovative ideas from students all around the university.

2018 Student Innovation Awards and Expo

Nine winners this year were selected among student participants representing several DePaul colleges and both undergraduate and graduate levels. All winners received a scholarship.

Read more about the 2018 event

Past Winners

2018 Winners

Ana Baciero, Arduino-based Moving-window Braille Display
Lance Sanderson, Digital Springboard
Sup Suh and Ha Pham, GEM
Konrad Markowski, The Grizzly Bark Brush
Savy Leiser, The Furever Home Friends
Gina Trotto, UnBarred
Alexander Mark and Sam Waters, Watermark Entertainment
Daniel McGrath, Xanadu

2017 Winners

Savoy Corona, Smartbox
Jake Gice, Flexroll
Oleh Mykolyshyn, Right Job
Alyssa Nagy, Clara Care
Ayet Ujwok, Four-in-one-Card
Patrick Zieba, Automotive Tire Valve System

2016 Winners

Nervana, Growth for Good
Winner: Evan Bennett

SAP, Idea Dissemination
Winner: Gerardo Garza, Jr.

UI Labs, Reduce Energy Consumption
Winner: Justin Gaczorek

UI Labs, Create a Transportation Demand Management Platform
Winner: Morgan Schulof

2015 Winners

Gold: Safe Crosser, Monica Grygorowicz, Driehaus College of Business
Silver: HealthPrentice, Khoa Nguyen, Driehaus College of Business
Bronze: Pulp Paper, Elaine Ackerman, Driehaus College of Business
Bronze: KidsBand + App, Jenny Fuerte, College of Computing and Digital Media

Gold: WeatherBox, Casandra Bungert, Kellstadt Graduate School of Business
Silver: Horse Pilates, Sue Nicole Susenburger, College of Communication
Bronze: Knight Out Collection, Adam H. Grossman, Kellstadt Graduate School of Business

Honorable Mention
3D Recycling Printer (3DRP), Mariana Gutierrez, Driehaus College of Business
IPSER, Morgan Schulhof, Driehaus College of Business
Phonella, David Allen, Driehaus College of Business