College of Business > Academics > School of Hospitality Leadership > The Hospitality Advisory Council

The Hospitality Advisory Council

​Members of the Hospitality Advisory Council (HAC) represent a wide range of hospitality organizations that operate in the U.S. and internationally with a strong representation in the Chicago hospitality community. These individuals bring a perspective to our program that helps us infuse worldwide trends and priorities, aiding us in keeping our program at the leading edge of the field.

As senior organizational leaders, members are highly visible advocates who champion our program across the industry. Their depth of leadership experience and organizational competence enables them to provide counsel in our preparation of students as future industry leaders and professionals.

Paul Daly
Senior Vice President, Select Operations
Hyatt Place and Hyatt House Americas

Vice Chairman
Jerry Cataldo*
President & Chief Executive Officer
Hostmark Hospitality Group

Past Chairman
oseph McInerney*
President & Chief Executive Officer
McInerney Hospitality International, LLC

An asterisk (*) indicates that a member of the HAC is also a DePaul University alumnus/alumna.

The HAC members serve on two subcommittees and one task force which guide our school in student preparation for successful hospitality careers. These two subcommittees and the task force include academic programs, industry and student engagement, and alumni relations and involvement respectively.

  • Jim Abrahamson
    Interstate Hotels & Resort  
  • Thomas F. Aichele
  • Daniel Beider*
    Chairman and Senior Managing Director, 
    Paramount Lodging Advisors
  • Carlyn Berghoff
    Chief Executive Officer,
    Berghoff Catering & Restaurant Group
  • Sarah Bond
    Regional Director of People & Culture, 
    Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts
  • Thomas Caplice*
    Founding Partner,
    MacNell Accounting & Consulting, LLP
  • David Causton
    General Manager,
    McCormick Place
  • John Colletti
    Managing Partner,
    Gibsons Restaurant Group
  • Paul Daly
    Senior Vice President, Select Operations,
    Hyatt Place and Hyatt House Americas
  • Anthony Falor*
    Managing Director,
    National Hospitality Group Ten-X
  • Michael Feigenbaum
    General Manager,
    Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
  • Fran Ferrone*
    Executive Vice President, 
    American Sightseeing International
  • Mike Fisher
    Director of Strategy, 
    M/A/R/C Research
  • Laurence Geller
    Chief Executive Officer & Chair, 
    Geller Investment Company
  • Sheldon Ginsburg*
    Retired Chief Executive Officer & Chair,
    Shell Vacations LLC
  • Ernest Glidden*
  • Marc Gordon
    Former President and CEO, 
    Illinois Hotel & Lodging Association
  • Sam Gutilla
    Sales Executive, 
    The Provant Group
  • Steven Hartenstein 
    Chief Financial Officer & Chief Operating Officer,
    Phil Stefani Signature Restaurants
  • Marc Jacobs
    Divisional President & Executive Partner,
    Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises
  • Michael Jacobson
    President & CEO,
    Illinois Hotel & Lodging Association
  • Allison Johnson
    General Manager,
    The Fortnightly of Chicago Club
  • George Jordan
    Oxford Hotels and Resorts, LLC
  • Arnold Karr*
    Karr & Associates
  • Colleen Keating
    Chief Operating Officer,
    The Americas Intercontinental Hotels Group
  • Anthony Klok
    Rebel Hospitality
  • David Kong
    President & CEO,
    Best Western Inc. Corporate Headquarters
  • Phillip Kuhn
    Senior Vice President,
    HUB International, Limited
  • Rick Kroner
    General Manager,
    Mid America Club
  • Nancy Lally 
    Regional Director of Human Resources,
  • Mark Lauer
    General Manager,
    Sheraton Grand Chicago Hotel
  • Thomas Loughlin
    Area Vice President (North Central Region),
    Hilton Worldwide
  • Steven Marx*
    Founder, Hotel Source, Inc.
    Director, Murphy Asset Management
  • Michael McCarthy
    Vice President,
    Hospitality Brand Management Standard Textile, Inc. 
  • Carrie Meghie*
    Becker Ventures
  • William Moore
    Area Director of Finance,
    Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
  • Nancy O'Brien*
    CEO, Founder,
    The Magnetic Truth, LLC
  • Shreyas "JR" Patel*
    Helix Hospitality
  • Thomas Robertson
    General Manager,
    Chicago Marriott Downtown
  • George Ruff*
    Senior Principal,
    Trinity Hotel Investors, LLC
  • Glen Ryniewski
    Assistant Commissioner,
    Chicago Department of Aviation
  • Bob Sala*
    Retired Founder & CEO,
    Distribution Market Advantage, Inc. 
  • Ted Selogie
    General Manager,
    Swissotel Chicago
  • John Spidalette
    General Manager, 
    University Club of Chicago
  • Ron Swidler
    Chief Innovation Officer,
    The Gettys Group
  • Sam Toia*
    Chair of the Board,
    Illinois Restaurant Association
  • Wayne Urbanek
    Managing Partner,
    Lighthouse Consulting, Inc.
  • Bill Vinck*
    Managing Director,
    Chapman Associates
  • Ron Vlasic
    Chief Operating Officer, 
    Hostmark Hospitality Group
  • Christopher Wehking
    Chief Program Officer,
    American Society of Anesthesiologists
  • Matthew Wehling
    Senior Vice President, Development North America,
    Hilton Worldwide
  • John Wells
    General Manager,
    Hilton Chicago
  • Barbara Wendel*
    General Manager,
    Doubletree Suites & Conference by Hilton Hotel and Conference Center Downers Grove
  • Rehan Zaid*
    Managing Principal,
    Prominence Hospitality Group

An asterisk (*) indicates that a member of the HAC is also a DePaul University alumnus/alumna.